�Fallout v5.0

"These pages I am writing should also transmit a cold luminosity, as in a mirrored tube, where a finite number of figures are broken up and turned upside down and multiplied."

-Italo Calvino

2001-04-10

Okay, this is going to be brief. I've been hypersensitive to everything these past few days... stuck with a perpetual hard-on and a lump in my throat.

Today hasn't been much fun. It started off with being dragged over to the optometrist and being told that I wouldn't have a replacement for my glasses for another three days.

Then about an hour later, we talked about the devastation of the atom bomb in history class. Not cheery subject matter.

Then I got a jury summons in the mail. There's a space for you to put down race. You're required by state law to pick one and go with it. They didn't list what options there were to choose from, so I put down "human."

I'm wondering how they'll react to that. I hope they don't hold me in contempt. At least, not half as much as I hold them in contempt. I'd change it to something safer, like "white" or "caucasian" or "anglo-saxon," but it wouldn't make me feel any better. One thing that living on the infinitely racially mixed border has taught me is that racial labels are meaningless. What really defines your interaction with a person is their self-imposed sub-cultural label. Sometimes these subcultures and racial categories overlap so exactly for a period of time that they become synonymous, but they're very apt to suddenly de-align, and that's when you start hearing things about one race trying to act like another. That's utter nonsense. The second race is only picking up on cultural cues that for one reason or another had initially been followed by the first. Yes, a culture may be composed primarily of members of one race, but to assume those cultural behaviors are intrinsic to that race is a gross oversimplification.

Um, tangent.

Anyhow, the jury duty thing pisses me off.

< Before * Beyond >


Swank New Guestbook
Retired Guestbook

Analyzer

Newest
Archives

Even More
Contact

Diaryland

Others:

Boy Ashamed
Deuterium D3
Dyke
Elagabalus
Fragile
Heptachlor
Jon-jon
Kif
Marn
Milkwood
Mundane Mania
Not A Hillbilly
Oh Captain
Orangepeeler

Perceptions
Queerscribe
Rilting
Sculptor
Shiitake
Stormwachr
Stuby13

Web Rings:

< # open pages ? >
< # Gay Diary Ring ? >
< # Ringsurf Gay Diaries ? >
<< #Outwrite ! >>